Refocused

I thought I would miss Facebook and that it would be hard to feel so disconnected. The truth is: It has been great! I haven’t felt disconnected at all! I mean, I might not know something here and there with some of my long distance friends, but I feel more connected to myself, more connected with Chad, and more connected with the people I interact with through other mediums.

I finished one of my books. I’ve had a few long phone conversations to catch up with a few friends. I’ve made a lot of progress with some errands and projects. I even went to a friend’s house Tuesday night and visited IN PERSON with her and another friend.

IN.
PERSON.

It was wonderful.

Some things that have made me really happy lately….

Chad and I finally tackled cleaning/organizing our garage!! I could kick myself for not taking a “before” picture so you could see all the disorganized chaos and trash/empty boxes piled everywhere…. I went into “Monica Gellar” mode and we made our crowded, dirty, spiderweb-filled, chaotic garage into a use-able, organized space! YAY!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

* The garage after I Monica Gellar’d it:

IMAG3132

It’s probably better that you didn’t see a before picture after all…. πŸ™‚

I’ve also enjoyed celebrating recently with my friend Betsy who is about to have her first baby! They don’t know the gender (which is driving some people crazy) but all it really means is she isn’t bombarded with more baby clothes than actual needed items from her registry. Genius!

Plus it is really exciting not knowing! πŸ™‚

IMAG3142

I also was able to make her a kick-ass, gender neutral diaper cake! Their nursery is Grey and Cream/Yellow so I had fun with this one! πŸ™‚

IMAG3056

I re-wrapped the board it is sitting on to match as well. (Monica Gellar!)

This past weekend, we also got to see two of our dearest KC friends, Jason and Melody Morgan, finish a 1/2 marathon!! It was so exciting Β and inspiring to see them accomplish something that requires so much dedication! SO proud of them for doing this and I am 90% certain that I will be signing up for a 5k in the Spring!!

IMAG3130

One thing that does suck is that apparently anytime I am taking injectable fertility meds (like I am now) I cannot exercise AT ALL because it exacerbates the potential for OHSS in me. Super frustrating when you’ve just been inspired by your friend finishing a 1/2 marathon, but my doctor literally said “Absolutely no exercise at all. You need to rest!” after he measured yet another abnormally large cyst on my right ovary the other day.  😦

Thankfully I have so many other things to lift my spirits and foster a heart of gratitude inside me. Ever since I disconnected from Facebook, even just the past few days, I truly have been focusing on so much more of what I have in my life right now – rather than bombarding myself with what others have that I wish I had.

Also, cat feet are ridiculously adorable:

IMAG3137

I love that Maizie flips over onto her back when she’s entered a deep sleep. πŸ™‚

6 comments on “Refocused

  1. Loved this post! So glad you got your garage looking beautiful. And I sooooo loved having you guys there to celebrate finishing the Half with us!! I’ll do a 5K in the spring with you for sure!

  2. Debi says:

    I love this post! You make me so proud. Question, how can u train for the 5k if you can’t exercise?

Comments are closed.