Three Decades Too Soon

I used to not think I would care about turning 30, but now that I am nearly there I realize I do.

Turning 30 feels wonderfully accomplished and awfully scary.

I think if I was more in shape physically or had accomplished certain milestones that many of my 25+year old friends have accomplished, I might feel ready to turn 30. However, what this could mean is that my thirties will be my decade to  get healthy and have babies – so cheers to that!!

🙂

Despite being out of shape, not working a dream job, and not having any babies yet – I feel I have much to celebrate!
I have made it 3 decades of my life.
The best decade was obviously the 90’s, but life just keeps surprising me with blessings and reasons to be thankful.
I have amazing friends.
I love my family – quirks and all!
I am married to my best friend and we LOVE living life together.
I have been blessed to be able to travel and see a lot of the country.
I have a car that works, a job that pays decently, and last year finally got my Bachelor’s Degree.
And so much more…

So all that to say, I want to celebrate!

But I am completely at a loss for what I want to do!
Do I take a trip somewhere with just me and Chad?
Do I have a big party with all my friends and, if so, where? When? Doing what?
Do I plan something smaller and more intimate and, if so – again, where? When? Doing what?

So please help me out…

What would you do?
If you’re over 30, what DID you do? Was it fun?

I have a reasonable budget and I am looking for reasonable ideas!
Please don’t suggest I tour Europe or throw a party at Kauffman stadium – haha. 🙂

Okay, ready set go – ideas please!! 🙂

.

.

.

p.s. – The picture below is SOOOO TRUE.

2 comments on “Three Decades Too Soon

  1. sonyadunham says:

    It’s not too soon to make a list of things you want to do before you have kids, before you die, etc. For me, having kids probably isn’t in my future, and since I’m a tad past 30, I’m making a bucket list. For you, since you want to have kids and you’re nowhere near the “prime of your life,” I suggest you make a list of things to do before you have kids. This will help you with all those questions of what to do, when, and whom with. For me, my 30th birthday was spent with family at a dinner. I don’t regret it, per se. I was in a different part of my life. I was with the wrong man and very unhappy. But, if I had to do it all over again, I would really celebrate turning 30. You don’t have to spend lots of money to give honor to the fact that you’ve made it this far and have accomplished great things in your life.

    Suggestions: Private dinner someplace special for you and Chad, intimate dinner party at a nice restaurant, a birthday bash at your house, complete with fire pit, music, balloons, and gifts or maybe you take a short and close trip to somewhere close to KC, like to Chicago or Omaha or St. Louis. You could make it a personal trip with Chad or an intimate trip with family or friends or both — saying, “Meet me in…” Whatever you do, do something that celebrates your life, the things you enjoy doing and the people you love in your life. If you do that, then you won’t regret it.

  2. Kimmie says:

    Ryan threw me a cookout party – had about 25-30 people. Do it up big! 🙂 Haha. Okay, I love that someecards picture you posted… so funny and so true!

Comments are closed.