It Is Finished

As you may have heard, I have finally completed my Bachelor of Arts degree.
I  majored in English with a Writing concentration.
I graduated Summa Cum Laude with a 4.0 gpa.

It is so surreal.

I expected I would breathe a huge sigh of relief and maybe celebrate nonstop for an entire year. Instead I just feel like I am blinking rapidly. This is it. It is finished. Not that I am not excited. I am over the moon excited that I was finally able to accomplish something I set out to do 10 years ago.

It is just that when you’ve been reaching for a goal for that long and when you’ve endured and had to overcome countless obstacles, challenges, relocations, and difficulties – it is hard to even feel the reality of being done. I’ve been able to go home from work and do whatever I want to do. A few times this week Chad and I would finish dinner and he would look at me and say, “Don’t you have to work on some homework now?” with a big grin on his face. He knew my reaction every time would be to get excited and declare, “No, I don’t!” as I once again realize that 10 years of assignments, tests, reading, research, projects, and papers has come to a close.

Ironically, I am just nerdy enough to already feel somewhat nostalgic. I loved being in school. I didn’t like not ever feeling like I had time for anything and I didn’t like the feeling that some deadline was always looming, but I certainly loved the academia, the learning, the Professors who inspired, and the general atmosphere of being on a college campus. I know I am going to go to Graduate School in the future – maybe not so distant of a future. But for now… I am going to enjoy my free time, catch up on the 50+ books I already own that I want to read for fun, work on some projects around the house, and thank God that He graciously got me through this season of my life. 🙂

3 comments on “It Is Finished

  1. shaun says:

    I am so very proud of you. You and chad both have come along way from where you started. I wish we lived closer together. I will get to see you next year tho. I love you. shaun

  2. So proud of you!! I know the feeling of working so hard towards a goal and then feeling so weird when its over. Whats next?!

  3. sylvia says:

    Congratulations! Well done.

Comments are closed.