My Weight Loss: The Details

This post is specifically for those who asked for the details of what I am doing to lose weight and be healthier.
If you are someone who doesn’t care about the nitty-gritty details and is just happy for me, then you can stop reading with post without any guilt or fear of reprisal.
If you are a hater, then hate somewhere else. Haha

Okay.

So the first detail that I previously mentioned was that I am doing a program with the Metabolic Research Center – specifically the one in Liberty.
They guarantee their results and TAILOR a plan SPECIFIC to you.
This is an important detail that cannot be stressed enough.
Please do not follow what I am doing exactly because it could be damaging to your body.
With the diet I am on, someone else might actually need fewer calories, or more, or more protein, whatever…
Feel free to utilize the general idea of healthy living/eating, but trust me when I say the foods I have been allowed to eat were based on criteria specific to me. (i.e. How much I weigh, how much I need to lose, where on my body I gain weight, my hormones levels, my age, previous eating habits, etc.)

So…

Basically there were only a few requirements for guaranteed results, then optional thing to better those results.

The requirements:

– follow unique eating plan/menu
– take a multi-vitamin every day (a good one!)
– take ____ amount of essential oils everyday. (I have to take 9000mg, and I chose Fish Oil capsules to start)
– Metabolic’s High Nutrient Supplement (HNS) drinks as scheduled into my menu plan.
Optional:

– Exercise (Very healthy and highly encouraged, but not necessary for results until I begin getting closer to my goal weight)
–  Additional supplements
– Weight in 2x a week
– Record and show to Metabolic a daily food diary
– Classes provided by Metabolic (Cooking, Exercise, Health, Emotional wellness, etc…)

– – –

My menu plan consists of the following:

Allowed Fruits:
Apple, Apricots, Blackberries, Blueberries, Boysenberries, Cantaloupe, Cranberries, Peaches, Pineapple, Grapefruit, Honeydew, Orange, Raspberries, Strawberries, Tangerine, Watermelon.
(Each of these fruits has a specific serving size, but typically anywhere from 1/2 cup to 1 cup depending on the fruit.)

Allowed Vegetables:
Artichokes, Asparagus, Bamboo Shoots, Bean Sprouts, Beet Greens, Broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Celery, Chard, Chicory, Chinese Cabbage, Collard Greens, Cucumber, Eggplant, Endive, Escarole, Green Beans, Green Onion, Green Peppers (Bell or Jalapeno type),  Kohlrabi, Lettuce (Iceberg, Romaine, Leafy, Kale), Mushrooms, Okra, Pimentos, Radishes, Raw Tomato, Sauerkraut, Spaghetti Squash, Snow Peas, Spinach, Summer Squash, Turnip Greens, Zucchini.
(Serving sizes for veggies is always EITHER 8 oz of raw, or 4 oz of cooked.)

Allowed Bread/Starches:
1 slice wheat bread (45 calories or less per slice!)
1 serving of Melba Toast
1/4 cup cooked:
quinoa, edamame,  green peas, black-eyed peas,
OR legumes such as: black, garbanzo, kidney, pinto, or navy beans.
1/2 corn OR flour tortilla

Allowed Proteins:

Group 1:
3oz hard cheese
OR
2 Eggs
OR
1oz hard cheese, 1 egg
OR
1 egg, 2 egg whites
OR
6oz of Cottage Cheese (but I don’t like this one!)

Group 2: (6 oz serving size)
Choice Beef Round, Choice Beef Sirloin, Flank Steak, Fresh Crab, Fresh Lobster, Fresh Shrimp, Fresh Scallops, Salmon, Gator, Lamb Loin, Pork Loin, Rump Roast, Veal Loin, Liver

Group 3: (6 oz serving size)
 Buffalo, Chicken Breast, Cod, Elk, Flounder or Sole, Haddock, Halibit, Rabbit, Red Snapper, Squirrel, White Tuna (water packed), Turkey Breast (or ground Turkey ONLY if it’s the 99% fat free version), Venison

– – –

So those are my approved foods. I am also allowed to cook with olive oil, Pam, this type of spray butter, and any seasonings I want except for salt. I can also have yellow mustard and (surprisingly!) Dijonaise.

Various Rules:
– No caffeine! (This was the hardest for me, but after about 10 days of this menu I found I did not even need it anymore! I wake up refreshed most days…. I now just miss the taste of coffee….)
– No sugar of any sort.
– No refined white starches
– No Fried Foods
– No Fast Foods
– I am allowed to have 1 cup of decaf coffee a day, with no cream and only artificial sweeteners if needed.
– I am allowed to have up to 24 oz of Caffeine Free, Diet Soda with very very very little sodium. (Like Diet Ginger ale…)
– I am allowed to have one “Creamy” HNS supplement a day. (Hot Chocolate, Pudding, Creamy Chicken Soup, etc….)
– I can only have the 3oz of Hard Cheese protein at one meal per day. This keeps me from eating cheese all day. Haha
– Salad dressing MUST be less than 4g of fat per serving, and less than 3 carbs.

– – –

How My Meals Work: (told you this was going to get detailed!!)

Every morning when I wake up I need to eat breakfast no later than 1 hour after rising.
Breakfast can consist of one Protein choice from Group 1, and 1 Bread/Starch choice.
Along with this I must take 1 HNS supplement and drink lots of water.

Very typical breakfast for me as I am running out the door to school:
1 hard boiled egg, 1 oz of cheese folded inside a slice of wheat bread, 1 grape HNS drink (tastes like grape juice!)
(Along with this I take: 1 multi-vitamin, 2 fish oil pills, 2 MRC-6 pills, and 1 Corti-trim pill!)

Lunch must be eaten no later than 4 hours after breakfast ended.
If I have to go longer than that, I need to have a between meal HNS supplement.
Lunch can consist of 1 Protein choice from either Group 1 or Group 3, along with 1 Vegetable choice, and 1 fruit choice.

Very typical lunch for me:
80z salad consisting of Baby Spinach, Raw Tomato, English Cucumber, and Trader Joes Cilantro Dressing + 6 oz of either Chicken Breast cooked the night before or a packet of Tuna with Dijonaise mixed in + either Cantaloupe or Pineapple or Strawberries. Also, another HNS supplement drink.
(I also have another 2 fish oil pills, 2 more MRC-6 pills, and 1 more Corti-trim)

Dinner has the same between meal hourly rules as lunch and breakfast.
Dinner can consist of 1 Protein choice from either Group 3 or Group 2. (Beef cannot be every night)
In addition to this, I can have 1 Vegetable choice and 1 Bread/Starch choice.

Very typical dinner for me:
4 oz of either steamed broccoli or steamed green beans.
6 oz of either chicken breast, or ground turkey cooked and then added to a HNS Chicken Broth supplement to be a soup!
1 slice of garlic toast.
If I don’t do the HNS Chicken Broth thing, I must have another regular HNS drink.
(I also my last 2 MRC-6 pills, and 3 more fish oils pills)

– – –

And that folks, is how I am losing so much weight.
There is a science behind it, but this post got soooo long you’re probably not even reading this anymore.
So I will post a science-behind-it post soon. 😉

8 comments on “My Weight Loss: The Details

  1. Have you tried calculating how many calories you eat in a day? I get that this is working a certain way for metabolism but I’m just curious!

  2. Okay, because I’m a creep and clearly have nothing better to do with my life, those meals you described add up to around 900 calories. No wonder you’re losing weight!! But I’m glad you’re doing this through a place and being totally safe and healthy 🙂

  3. Courtney says:

    Wow, sounds like you are working hard! Keep it up!!

  4. I read every word, and was not bored at all….lol…sounds very intense….glad it’s working well for you….How do you feel? Is it hard to stay on it? I’m very proud of you…

  5. I read it, I found it very interesting. I cant believe you had to give up coffee!! Im with you on that one, I think I could give it up, but I would miss the taste and aroma and how it makes me feel happy! And you can eat gator?? lol So question i have from all this is with your fruits and veggies, do they have to be fresh or can they be frozen? I mean I know they cant be canned cause of the salt. I wonder if my medical insurance would pay for a program like this? I doubt it but it couldnt hurt to ask!

  6. Abby says:

    I am incredibly proud of you. ❤ chewing you along the whole way.

  7. Abby says:

    Lol CHEERING not chewing

  8. […] I already spoke about what specifically I am eating and the supplements I am taking here. I wanted to also throw out quickly the science behind the program I am on, and why the science of […]

Comments are closed.