31 Things: Day Nine

Today I am thankful for other people’s kids.
Seriously.

I love being able to love on my friend’s kids!
I love buying them gifts.
I love spending time with them and making memories and taking pictures.
I love ย watching their faces light up when they see me.
I love watching them grow up. ๐Ÿ˜‰
Most recently, I love that sweet little boy named Jackson has added my name to his 40-word vocabulary.
He only can speak about 40-something words in the entire English language, and one of them is MY name! It seriously makes my day every time he says it. ๐Ÿ™‚

– – –

Right now, the two kids I feel the closest to because of proximity and time spent together are my friend Melody’s two sweet boys: Jacob and Jackson.

Today, we all went to the Crown Center and watched trains, ate lunch, and played in the Christmas setup outside.
It definitely got me thinking about how much joy these two little boys bring to my life.
Kids are such a blessing from God.
Just because I don’t have any of my own yet, doesn’t mean I can’t be blessed by the children in my life that belong to my friends. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As I was saying goodbye to them today after our quality time and began to walk the other direction, Jackson began blowing me kisses and shouting my name – he didn’t want me to go!
*contented sigh*

Here were some of the highlights from today…

This was Jackson’s face when he saw me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Jackson with Jacob watching the model trains at Union Station:

I didn’t get a good picture of Jacob’s face today. Like any great on-the-go 3 year old, he has a hard time holding “cheese” faces for very long. ๐Ÿ™‚
But he is such a cute kid!
Picture his dad took:

– – –

Another friend of mine in Kansas City just had a baby. My friend Jennifer had a baby boy named Bentley about one month ago.
He doesn’t know me yet, but he certainly will. I am going to be his part-time nanny in the Spring!
I am looking forward to watching him grow and learn and recognize me. ๐Ÿ™‚

– – –

My best friend Kimmie lives in Florida and has a little boy that I seriously love SOOO much! I had been waiting for this little boy to be born for nearly 6 years.
When I finally saw him, my heart melted!
I wish I got to see him more, so I could really love on him!
But I still try and spoil him long distance! I love him to pieces!
I am looking forward to meeting his little sister sometime next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

Judah in an outfit I bought him:

Another one of him when I went to visit recently and we went to a pumpkin patch. ๐Ÿ˜‰

– – –

Last, but certainly not least are the Bougher boys.
I probably get to see them the least, but I LOVE these boys.
I always bring them Christmas gifts, and I pray for them and their family often.
Their parents (Brian and Angie) were my former youth pastors…now they’re my friends/family.

Their boys are not only incredibly handsome, but are growing up to be some of the funniest, warm-hearted, godly young men I’ve ever seen….

Here they are all together:

Collin is the oldest.
I lived with ย Brian and Angie when he was born.
I got to hold him, change his diapers, etc.
I bought him his first Chicago Bears jersey.
I LOVE this kid. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nathan is the middle boy.
He is a lot of fun to be around and is always making everyone laugh!
He is HILARIOUS!
Look how handsome he is! ๐Ÿ™‚

Andrew is the youngest.
He is soooo sweet!
I haven’t gotten to spend nearly as much time with him, but I was around when he started taking his first steps.
I am definitely looking forward to seeing him again in just one week! ๐Ÿ™‚

– – –

I am not sure why my very closest friends all have SONS!
Crazy!

But I am so glad they let me be a part of their kid’s lives.
I am glad they let me love and spoil them.
I am glad I get to be “Aunt Tasha” to these amazing boys.

I am so thankful for the sunshine and the joy that my friend’s kids bring into my life. ๐Ÿ™‚

