Kansas City Art Fair – 2011

Last weekend Chad and I went to the Kansas City Art Fair down at the Plaza. It was an absolutely gorgeous day! Chad braved the crowds for me because he is a loving Hubby. He hates crowds! haha

As you can see, it was crowded!

As we were walking through the fair, certain displays caught my eye more than others. I am drawn to a lot of different types of art media, so there is a quite a range between the artists styles and expression. I wanted to document in this blog post the artists I found to be the more appealing, the most interesting, and the most talented…. in my opinion. πŸ™‚

j i m Β c. Β b r o w n

This artist created his work in a way I have never even heard of! So unique and so beautiful!

He takes individual photos of trees, overlaps those photos together and then prints them directly onto plaster! The plaster absorbs the ink and it gives the trees a blurry haunted look. If I had $2,000 Β to spend on art work, I would have bought one of his in a second!

Example of his work:

I usually go to Art Fair to get inspired and see if I can mimic some of the things I find. However, I would have no clue where to start with printing multiple photos onto plaster, nor the equipment to make it happen. Bravo to jim c. brown for getting my vote for the most uniquely crafted works of art! πŸ™‚

Steven Graber

This next artist does a lot of portraits and landscapes with a mixed media, including: acrylic, water color and charcoal. I just enjoyed looking at the soft curves and warm tones of his work.

Example:

He gets my vote for the softest and warmest art work at the Art Fair. πŸ™‚

John Charbonneau

This artist used photography and art medias to make a social or political statement using surrealism. He takes human forms in human settings and gives them the heads of animals (usually birds)! Crazy! So neat and interesting to look at. They were fun to try and interpret the meaning behind his pieces… πŸ™‚

Examples:

He gets my vote for best use of surrealism, as well as best underlying statements in his work. πŸ™‚

Xavier Nunez – Photographer

This artist blew my mind! He did absolutely no photo editing to any of his photos. Instead, he manipulated the color in them using various colored lights while leaving the exposure open! Awesome! In one of his photos, you could see a faint shadow of his arm holding up a light where he had accidentally captured himself in the work! πŸ˜€

Most of his work seems to center around urban setting, alleys and other various landscapes.

Example:

He wins my vote for best talent with manipulating light and color in a photo, without the use of editing software. (in a nutshell – haha)

Mr. Hooper

This artist, known as Mr. Hooper, uses mixed media of various sorts to create expressive pop/modern art. At the fair, most of his art had been created on pieces of smooth wood, rather than canvas. He has a very cartoon-ish style, and is also making various social or political statements in his pieces. A lot of the people perusing his display at the Art Fair said his art could be hung anywhere from an office, to a living room, to a little kids bedroom! πŸ™‚

Example:

He wins my vote for best imaginative expression in art.

David Mayhew – Photographer

This artist captures the sky and the weather in a way that is breathtaking! He uses photo editing software, but places himself in situations that most weak-kneed people wouldn’t just to take the perfect photograph. His work is colorful and large and powerful. The following is the only image I could find online that was larger than a thumbnail, but be sure to check out his website where some amazing pictures of lightning, tornadoes, powerful weather and Chicago are displayed!

Example:

He wins my vote for having the courage of a storm chaser to beautifully capture the most powerful forces in nature.

__

Chad enjoyed a lot of the art we saw, but there were two artists especially that I wouldn’t normally be drawn to that he really liked. (They are extremely talented, I just wouldn’t normally gravitate to this style.)

However, they get honorable mention because of how much he likes what they created. πŸ™‚

Aaron Foster

This artists created a lot of metal work sculptures out of antiques and classic license plates. His style was very rugged and “All-American.” He was very talented, and quite young considering his work was selling fast! (and for $1k+ a piece!) One lady offered him $500 CASH for one of his works, but he turned her down. He didn’t need to bargain. His work was selling for full price! πŸ™‚

Example:

He wins Chad and I’s vote for the most metal-work art sold at the Fair! πŸ˜€

Dana Forrester

This artist also had a very All-American style. She worked mostly with watercolor to draw very life-like replicas of classic cars. She took custom orders too! Very detailed. Very cool. Perfect for any man cave. πŸ™‚

She does not have her own website, but if you Google her name she comes up everywhere. πŸ™‚

Example:

She wins Chad and I’s vote for the most detailed and accurate painting done with watercolor! πŸ™‚

4 comments on “Kansas City Art Fair – 2011

  1. Johanna says:

    Ha!!! I just had to chuckle with each award category – you should be a coach! πŸ™‚

  2. Uncle D says:

    Love it! Lisa and I used to go to the Norman art walk in Norman, OK once a month…I miss that….hey I was gonna say, although not knowing how to mimic an artists media doesn’t mean you can’t mimic the outcome…all artists do that, including yours truly. It’s not plagerism, its “reference”..:)

  3. Aaron foster, you saw him there? That is so cool, I have that license plate map as my wallpaper on my laptop! I love his work! I love art fairs so much. Glad you had fun!

  4. Colby says:

    Bubble bear is freaking me out.
    Seriously.
    -Colby

Comments are closed.