Shaun Michael

Family is one of those things I’m really never sure how to handle… but I know that no matter what they will always be my family.

We love.
We argue.
We encourage each other.
We disagree with each other.
We’re family.

I don’t come from a huge family with tons of siblings and cousins and extended relatives.

Growing up it was always just me and my two brothers +  occasional visits, phone calls and packages from the rest of my family who all lived out of state.

I wanted to dedicate the next two blog posts to my brothers – Shaun and Matthew. As much as we differ on so many things, to know them is to know me. I have more memories of times with them than I have childhood memories to begin with. They were a constant in my life.

This post will be about Shaun.

I adored my older brother Shaun. We are approximately 1 year and 10 months apart.
I may not have shown it as obviously when I was a teen, but nearly ALL of my memories of Shaun are fond and put a smile on my face.
He was someone I looked up to. He was someone I knew would be there for me. I remember thinking he could do anything he wanted. I always saw him teaching history to middle-schoolers or high-schoolers…. while coaching football and basketball on the side, of course. 🙂
The specific thoughts I remember having about him included admiring how gentle he was, how compassionate and understanding he was, how athletic and confident he was, and how smart and funny he was. He always listened to me. He always had my back. He filled in the best he could when our dad walked out on us. He was my irreplaceable big brother.

This is me and him when we were little:

He was always making funny faces like that. 🙂

Sometimes we would fight, but what healthy and normal siblings don’t?? One of my favorite memories is from when I was about 13 years old. Our family was walking near this Prairie Dog park in Lawton, OK near our house. Shaun and I started fighting (about what I haven’t the faintest memory!) and our “punishment” was that we had to walk home holding hands.

Of course, my mom snapped a picture. The funny thing is that my love language is physical touch. I didn’t know this was my love language at the time, but my reaction to this “punishment” then now makes perfect sense. Not only was any anger I had towards my brother quickly abated by simply holding his hand (ask Chad the easiest way for him to solve our marital arguments! haha) – but I felt a hidden sense of pride. I got to hold the hand of my older brother who I looked up to. What my mom didn’t know, is that I secretly didn’t mind at all. 🙂

Here is a picture of all three of us. Don’t mind the hand-me-down Goodwill clothes or the homemade dress I am wearing! This was the eighties!

Yes, that IS a mullet on Shaun. Yes, Matt IS posing like he’s on the catwalk. Yes, that is a GINORMOUS bow on my head.

Shaun influenced me to love Jesus.
He taught me a lot about music and what all the good bands were. Even when my music tastes branched out a little in high school, I still enjoy a great song by Journey, DC TALK, Stryper or All Star United. As I type this right now “Don’t Stop Believin”” is playing on my iTunes. 🙂

We used to stay up late – just me and him – watching “Real Videos”. Anyone else remember this? 🙂

Shaun got our family back into church when I was about 11 years old.
Shaun taught me how to throw a football, shoot hoops and even my ABC’s.

Here is a picture of him dancing at my Uncle Donald’s wedding with our cousin Katie.
I always thought my brother was so handsome. 🙂

Here is a funny pic of him that I love.

Now we are both grown up.

He lives in Wisconsin and I live in Kansas City, MO.
He has 3 kids and I have 3 kitties.

I haven’t lived around my brother for 10 years.
Our personalities, tastes and preferences have both changed as time often does this to people.
Sometimes I feel like I don’t know him anymore and it makes me sad.
But one thing will never change… Shaun Michael is my big brother.
I love him.
No matter how much we argue about whether or not a Christian should enjoy and read Harry Potter…
No matter how many miles separate us….
No matter how much he hates that I have a Justin Bieber song in my iTunes….

NO MATTER WHAT.

I love you, big brother. Always. 🙂

7 comments on “Shaun Michael

  1. irene ladd says:

    Ahhhh that made me cry….too sweet!

  2. Beautiful I loved reading your tribute to shaun!! YOur such a talented writer!!

  3. Oh and I would like to clarify something the dress you were wearing was yes homemade, but the boys outfits were not from a thrift store, they were actually bought new, its just that neon and crazy surf style like that was popular, you might look back at those colors and think thrift store. And shaun insisted I buy him the neon orange shoe laces to match that neon orange that was in style! lol shoes look a little rough though! haha

  4. shaun says:

    you have always amazed me tasha! me and matthew used to fight the most. you always came to us as the voice of reason. I felt like you raced by me in maturity growing up. I do appreciate this and I apologize about the whole harry potter thing. I tend to forget that most things christians can handle if they are strong enough spiritually. and you are. that is something I was taught at cfni…. I appreciate all the credit even tho you showed me some pretty cool bands as well. you have to teach me how to set up this whole blog thing, cuz I think I might wanna start. love you lots and miss you and matt horribly…

    • Well, you know girls do technically mature faster than boys. lol

      Glad you liked the post. I hope you felt very loved by it. 🙂
      This blog was super easy to set up, though this host (WordPress) is a lot LESS user-friendly than Blogger (aka. Blogspot.com)…. So if you want a blog, I’d suggest that one for ease of use, ease of setup and the way it is linked to Facebook, etc….Pretty simple directions on their site. I chose this one cause I like to go the difficult route and because it was more customize-able (the header is a picture I actually took!) but requires more tech-savvy skills (which I get from Chad!). haha

      I love you lots and miss you HORRIBLY too….

  5. shaun says:

    Awww..such good writing! ❤ it!

  6. you are an amazing writer Tasha. 🙂 And I have to agree you have an awesome big brother. I love the punishment and how you enjoyed holding his hand. lol Love you both! ❤

Comments are closed.