Friendship : Manna from Heaven

When I was a little girl, I used to close my eyes every night before bed and pray to God that He would please give me a sister.
Often, my eyes would be brimming with tears.
When I was old enough to realize that my mom was NOT having any more children no matter how hard I wanted her to, my prayer changed to “God, please, PLEASE bring me a best friend.”

Look how cute I am… Wouldn’t you have wanted to be my friend?? πŸ™‚

p.s. I am on the left in the weird jumper suit thing….The kid on the right is my little brother Matthew…. when you are a little girl, brothers do not count as friends. lol

For the next 10 years or so, I waited and waited for that best friend.
My mom used to say, “If you want a friend, then BE a friend.”
Naturally, when I didn’t see any friends around me, I concluded that I wasn’t being friendly enough…. but who was I supposed to be a friend to if there was no one around?

Some friends eventually came and went, but they were mostly fun girls to hang out with. Not the type of friends who really and truly understand you. Other friends came into my life that were absolutely the BEST and we connected deeply and have so many beautiful memories. Time and life and distance now separate us, but the memories of those friendships continue to replay in my mind. I miss them dearly.

What I didn’t know is that God had NOT forgotten about my first prayers.
A sister.
God blessed me with all these amazing friendships that were so rich and so life-giving and so full of love I couldn’t have asked for anything more.
But He still remembered that I wanted a sister.

In the Fall of 2002, I was introduced to my sister.

I didn’t know she was my sister at the time because she was from Florida and had different parents than I did. One very normal day, we both made a drive to DFW to drop someone off at the airport. I don’t remember who we took to the airport, but I remember that day so clearly. We both got desperately lost as we hysterically searched for a Starbucks. On the drive home, we shared how we felt isolated and misunderstood at Teen Mania. She was a Sanguine/Choleric Extrovert, but she felt more introverted around her peers at Teen Mania. I was a Melancholy/Phlegmatic Introvert, but most people thought I was the opposite because I loved people and was desperate for friends after most of mine had graduated with the August 2001 class. In that moment, when we shared who we really were with each other – (like it was a secret that no one else was privy to) – we became friends who would eventually become sisters.

Nine years later… life circumstances have changed. Our last names have changed. She is back in Florida and is a mother. I am living in Kansas City and I am still a student. We don’t get to see each other as often as we’d like, but one thing has always remained the same: WE KNOW EACH OTHER. We understand each other. We “get” each other. We accept each other. We love each other.

We are family.

This is my sister:

Kimmie Ann Carter

TM Banquet

The goodness and grace of God evident in my life.

His faithfulness to answer prayer astounds me.

Here we are as “new” friends in 2002:

At my Intern Graduation:

One of my favorite pics of her….

Riding Horses in Texas!

Fast forward to when she began dating one of my best guy friends: Ryan Carter

They got married. πŸ™‚

And now they have a beautiful son: Judah

You couldn’t ask for a better sister…. or a prayer more worth waiting for…. πŸ™‚

9 comments on “Friendship : Manna from Heaven

  1. Wow Tasha, this made me cry. I love you so much.

  2. GREAT post! πŸ™‚

  3. Kimmie Carter says:

    Aw, mi hermana! Thanks for this post! I am blessed by you and all that God has allowed us to share together these past 9 years!! Can’t wait to see what else He has in store and what seasons we get to walk through together. Love you!

  4. Heidi says:

    ha, i keep trying to respond on here, Tash! sorry if you have all 3 comments but i love this post!!! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.